Delivery from only £2.25

We're sorry, but your web browser is out of date and some features of this site might not work on it. Please update your browser for a better browsing experience.

Please click on a box above to view titles

  • The Velvet Slide Treble Clef
    The Velvet Slide Treble Clef ThumbnailThe Velvet Slide Treble Clef Thumbnail

    Daryl Runswick

    The Velvet Slide Treble Clef

    • 8.50


    • Product Details
    • Composer Biography

    Instrument: trombone/euphonium treble clef and piano
    Grade: easymedium
    Catalogue No: 1128TC
    ISMN No: 9790570272570

    Jazzy solos for trombone.

    Trombonists today need more than ever before to be grounded in both classical and commercial (jazz/pop) styles. From the jazz waltz of 'Smoochissimo' to the pounding groove of 'The Backbone' this book shows you a wide range of licks and phrasing. The Velvet Slide will help you develop the skills needed to fit in comfortably in a brass section, a jazz band or on Top of the Pops!

    ... Smoochissimo • The Smelter • Moondog • The Backbone • For the Next Time • Slinker • The Velvet Slide
    Daryl Runswick
    Daryl Runswick is Head of the Composition Faculty at Trinity College of Music in London and chairman of Contemporary Music Making for Amateurs. He began his musical life as a Cambridge chorister but quickly moved sideways into the jazz and pop world, playing bass with many international stars as well as running his own groups. This dual speciality (classical / popular) has permeated his subsequent career, which has included work as a solo improvising pianist and as a broadcaster, singing with the pioneering vocal group Electric Phoenix, concert work with the London Sinfonietta, session playing, arranging (especially for The King's Singers) record producing (recently for Keith Tippett) and conducting his own film and TV scores.

    His concert works include Lady Lazarus (1984) Zuppa Inglese (1993) accidental counterpoints (1998) Moon/Skull (2001) and the ongoing series Scafra Preludes (1995- ). In addition he has devoted much energy and thought to the search for a synthesis of the improvising skills he learned in jazz with the more complex structures of contemporary concert music, in such works as I Sing The Body Electric (1984) From Two Worlds (1990) I Am A Donut (1992) Moto Interrotto / Ripreso (1995) Dicing with De'Ath (1998) Sarabande (1999) World upon World (2000) and Sonata (Gracing) (2001).

    Island, Daryl Runswick's latest major work, had its world première in London in June. This year also saw the first performance of Sonata (Gracing) for cello, in Athens. His large-scale ensemble piece Moon/Skull, conducted by Edwin Roxburgh, came last year, and in 2000 World upon World, a BBC commission, was performed by the BBC Symphony Orchestra with soloists and children's choir, conducted by the composer. He is currently working on a voice-and-electronics piece for Frances M Lynch, based on interviews with Tracey Emin.

    You Also Viewed