Please click on a box above to view titles

Mercurial Dances
Mercurial Dances ThumbnailMercurial Dances Thumbnail

arr Martin Ellerby

Mercurial Dances

  • 8.95


  • Product Details
  • Composer Biography

Instrument: trumpet and piano
Grade: mediumslightly difficult
Catalogue No: 2113
ISMN No: 9790570271801

A series of five contrasting pieces each based on various dance elements ~ the sense of humour and reflective nostalgia used to create them are encouraged to be relayed by the performer.

... Frascati's • Experiments • Gazing Rustics • Still Waters • The Defence of Poesy

“... Beautifully written with pleasantly barbed harmony for the pianist and melodious parts for trumpet ... this fine suite should be enjoyed by all middle and upper grades.”
Reviewed ‘Music Teacher’.
Martin Ellerby
Martin Ellerby studied composition with Joseph Horowitz and W.S.Lloyd Webber at the Royal College of Music during which time he was awarded the Arts Council of Great Britain Dio Fund Award for Young Composers. An Allcard Award from the Worshipful Company of Musicians enabled further studies with Wilfred Josephs shortly after which he won the Middlesex Polytechnic prize for a work for youth orchestras which was subsequently performed at the Royal Albert Hall in London.

He was composer in association to City of Sheffield schools between 1981 and 1982 and was awarded the George Butterworth Memorial Fund for his Requiem in 1985. The Norman Sykes Memorial Fund enabled a concert of five chamber works in the Purcell room, London South Bank, in 1986.

In 1988 he joined the professional staff at the London College of Music, being made Head of Composition in 1994 soon after the college's move to Thames Valley University.

In 1994/95 he was Composer in Residence to the Brass Band Berher Oberland in Switzerland and an award from the Arts Council of England enabled the Watford Youth Brass Band of Great Britain to appoint him Composer-in-Residence in 1995/96.

You Also Viewed