Delivery from only £2.25

We're sorry, but your web browser is out of date and some features of this site might not work on it. Please update your browser for a better browsing experience.
  • Clarinet Concerto 'The Fallen'Full Score  Wind Orchestra
    Clarinet Concerto 'The Fallen'!!!!Full Score  Wind Orchestra ThumbnailClarinet Concerto 'The Fallen'!!!!Full Score  Wind Orchestra Thumbnail

    Jeffery Wilson

    Clarinet Concerto 'The Fallen'
    Full Score — Wind Orchestra

    • 20.00


    • Product Details
    • Composer Biog
    • Instrumentation
    • Listen

    Instrument: wind band full score
    Grade: conservatoire
    Catalogue No: WB023
    ISMN No: 9790570660780

    Movt 1 Conflict
    Movt 2 The Fallen
    Movt 3 Resolution

    For L/Cpl Natalie White and the Band of the Welsh Guards.

    With special mention of two officers of the regiment - Robert Cobbald
    and JD Gibson-Watt

    With thanks to Michael Christie for his creative input.

    To view a video of the solo performance on youtube CLICK HERE

    "The three movements are 'conflict', 'The Fallen' and 'Resolution', themes that are freely interpreted musically. In 'Conflict', the solo clarinet begins with an ascending figure based on octave leaps, while the accompaniment contrasts with marcato quavers and harsh dissonances. The melody features seventh intervals, and while the movement is marked 3/4 the accompaniment is often 6/8. This is more evident in the second theme where the clarinet line moves much more by step. The development takes these ideas and the cadenza comes from yet more conflict between the now calm clarinet and dissonant clashes in the accompaniment.
    'The Fallen' is the slow movement and poignantly features notes from 'The Last Post' in the opening and a beautiful working of 'David of the White Rock' later on. The final movement 'Resolution' is a Rondo in 6/8, brighter but with hints of the initial conflict through the sevenths in the meno mosso sections which interrupt the flow. Another long cadenza takes short ideas from the piece before the work comes to a triumphant end with all four E notes across the whole range, echoing the beginning.
    Wilson set out to write a concerto for a versatile instrument and has found ways to exploit its capabilities while keeping tonal centre. There are frequent altissimo notes within all three movements. Wilson does use the very low notes, most notably in the cadenzas, but much of the work is high, presumably to allow the clarinet to carry over the wind band accompaniment. A good command of all notes right up to A sharp an octave above the stave is needed, plus technique to travel to and from altissimo notes (legato). The piece is around 25 minutes long. Printing is clear and the piano accompaniment comes as a spiral bound volume."
    Reviewed Stephanie Reeve, 'Clarinet & Saxophone'

    Full score available see Previous Title

    Individual Parts available separately. Please contact Brass Wind Publications for further details.
    Jeffery Wilson
    Jeffery Wilson studied at the RCM with John Lambert and Herbert Howells and went on to study with Gordon Jacob, Aladar Majorossy and Olivier Messiaen. His output includes orchestral music, numerous chamber works and educational music, jazz composition and one Opera 'The Way to Glory'. Jeffery was for many years a visiting lecturer at Utrecht Conservatorium in Holland and principal examiner (Jazz) for Guildhall exams, he is now coordinator of Composition at Junior Guildhall, Saxophone and Clarinet tutor at Colchester Institute and a supervisor for the music faculty at Cambridge University. He also very much enjoys responding to commission and fulfilling musical needs like the 'Progressive Guide to Melodic Improvisation' published by Trinity Guildhall. Why not visit for more on the composer.
    Instrumentation Sample

    sampleThe Fallen for Clarinet

    You Also Viewed