Delivery from only £2.25

We're sorry, but your web browser is out of date and some features of this site might not work on it. Please update your browser for a better browsing experience.

Please click on a box above to view titles

  • Porgy and Bess
    Porgy and Bess ThumbnailPorgy and Bess Thumbnail

    Gershwin arr David Purser

    Porgy and Bess

    • 46.95


    • Product Details
    • Composer Biog
    • Instrumentation
    • Listen

    Instrument: brass tentet (score and parts)
    Grade: conservatoire
    Catalogue No: 9072
    ISMN No: 9790570270323

    The four arrangements that make up this suite of pieces from Gershwin's great opera Porgy and Bess can be played separately or in combination. The first movement moves from the virtuosic Overture into the opera's most famous tune, Summertime, which can be performed as a separate item. My Man's Gone Now, starting with a raw trombone solo, is the heart-rending lament of a woman whose husband has been drowned at sea. Bess You is My Woman Now is a beautiful love duet, featuring horn and flugelhorn. The tuba solo of I've got Plenty of Nothing leads into the jubilant Finale, a rousing number for the whole ensemble.

    Scored for 4 trumpets • 1 horn • 4 trombones • 1 tuba
    David Purser
    David Purser has 25 years' experience teaching at conservatoire/university level.

    After completing his studies on the trombone at the Royal College of Music with Arthur Wilson, David entered the thriving world of London freelance music. During the 1970's and 80's he appeared frequently as a guest with all London's major symphony orchestras and at both opera houses, where he could be heard playing the bass trumpet and tenor tuba as well as the trombone. It was during this time that he became a member of The Philip Jones Brass Ensemble (1973) and the London Sinfonietta (1975). In 1980 he became a professor at the Royal College of Music.

    When Philip Jones retired in 1986, David was a founder member of the newly-formed London Brass. In 1992 he became manager of the ensemble, responsible for artistic planning, commissioning new music, organising a series of recordings and running masterclasses and courses, both at home in the UK and internationally. His playing career also includes 30 years with the Nash Ensemble and seven years as principal trombone of Sinfonia 21.

    In 2001 he was appointed Head of Brass at Birmingham Conservatoire. He still plays with the London Sinfonietta, where he enjoys the continuing challenge of performing the music of our own time. David has also published several arrangements for brass ensemble.

    Instrumentation Sample

    Sample: Overture and Summertime

    You Also Viewed